ASTHMA AND CARPET

srijeda, 26.10.2011.

LIPSTICK OUT OF CARPET : OF CARPET


LIPSTICK OUT OF CARPET : SHAW CARPETS USA.



Lipstick Out Of Carpet





lipstick out of carpet















7




7





Russ and I have been saying our goodbyes this week. We're eating too much and drinking too much, as that all comes with goodbyes.

Matt and I said goodbye at the place we always go for drinks, fried food and bad jukebox music: Ye Rustic Inn.

He still lives in the apartment I moved into when I first moved to Los Angeles 11 years ago. My roommate was Christine at the time. She had the apartment for at least 5 years before I moved in so our rent for a two bedroom and two bath was $750.

She moved out and Kenna moved in. Kenna got engaged and moved to Chicago. Matt moved in. Then we broke up and I moved out. He's had at least three other roommates since and refuses to leave as the rent has barely budged in the last 11 years.

The carpet is worn and permanently stained, and I'm sure the grout has disappeared from the kitchen tiles. But he is now part of that apartment's culture.

He's the artist in the front apartment. Joey is the aged drug dealer and ex-bookie/screen writer in the back with the German Shepard who shat on our carpet. Bertha and her daughter will always be thought of as The Lipstick Twins as they always wear matching sweatshirts on the holidays and happen to have the same color lipstick on at all times. Matt will forever be changing the clocks during daylight savings for Jill and Stephen upstairs who are mentally disabled. And who have way too many clocks.

I moved out over 7 years ago but my time in that apartment feels so much longer than it really was. It's where I first experienced the full culture shock of Los Angeles and what the city meant to me.

I had been trying to figure out where to go next ever since.












Peeling Back the Layers




Peeling Back the Layers





I love in home renovation programmes when beautiful floorboards or wallpaper are discovered under old carpet/wallpaper. On this card I wanted to give the impression of boring old paper being stripped away to reveal a nicer layer underneath.

I inked glossy card with distress inks (spiced marmalade, worn lipstick and shabby shutters) and stamped in black with Outline Flowers. The black paper was machine stitched onto the glossy card using a variegated thread and torn back to reveal the Outline Flowers. This was mounted on a square of cream card which had been distressed using the same distress inks as above. I stamped an individual flower twice on pp, cut out and inked the top layer with spiced marmalade. Just added some stickles for a bit of sparkle. Unfortunately, it's a dull day here so the sparkle isn't showing up in the photo.










lipstick out of carpet







Related topics:

compare carpet cleaning companies

eagle carpets

grand prairie carpet cleaning

carpet northern virginia

carpet underfelt

rug galleries

carpet washer sale

vomit carpet stain removal



26.10.2011. u 21:50 • 0 KomentaraPrint#

<< Arhiva >>

  listopad, 2011  
P U S Č P S N
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31            

Listopad 2011 (19)

Dnevnik.hr
Gol.hr
Zadovoljna.hr
OYO.hr
NovaTV.hr
DomaTV.hr
Mojamini.tv

ASTHMA AND CARPET

asthma and carpet, new shag carpet, festival rugs, installing outdoor carpet